Home » About Us » Advisory Panel

Advisory Panel

Prof. Pratima Sinha — is an eminent scientist in the field of Biochemistry. She did her doctorate from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai; she completed her Post Doctoral research/training at Cornell University and University of Washington, Seattle, USA. Was elected Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad (1998) and Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1999). Was awarded “Stree Shakti “ Science Samman in 2001.

Retired as Senior Professor in the Department of Biochemistry, Bose Institute, Kolkata. Her field of Specialization was Molecular Genetics of Yeast.

Area of Research:
(i) DNS replication and segregation in the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae.
(ii) Identification of DNA replication/damage checkpoint genes. Recipient of National Science Talent Scholarship given by National Council of Educational Research and Training, Government of India from 1969 to 1978.

Joined Institute of Microbial Technology (IMTECH), Chandigarh, as Scientist C and was also on deputation to the Indian Institute of Chemical Biology (IICB), Calcutta from 1984 to 1986.
Dr. Sushma Chand, M B B S — a doctor by profession, retired from CGHS as Chief Medical Officer, did her MBBS from Calcutta University in first division in the year 1969. During the college days she was a member of P.P.W.O (Poor Patients Welfare Organisation), an association formed by students. It was providing free medicines, spectacles and artificial limbs to needy patients who could not afford to procure them. Joined Safdarjang Hospital, Delhi and underwent training for two years. Subsequently  joined Central Health Service and worked in Delhi, Kanpur and Bangalore. During service participated in health camps organized by I.M.A Bangalore. Was elected President I.M.A - C.H.S Branch for the year 2003-2004. Retired from service in August 2006. Since then, she has been providing free medical service to 2000 school children as well as economically backward and visually challenged sections of the society.